MISSING

As I twiddle my thumbs waiting for my graft to happen and my counts to wake up – I’ve been thinking about the things I’ve missed most since my diagnosis in September.

Undoubtedly the most significant thing is freedom. Freedom to plan, go outside, travel and even freedom to eat soft poached eggs!

I’ve realised that most of us take our freedom for granted and its withdrawal came, for me at least, as an almighty earthquake. I was living life to the full. At 100 miles an hour – and loving it. Steve and I have travelled to some wonderful places and I relished any opportunity to plan adventures.

We have a very good social life and a week without a night out with friends for food and drink was rare. My work also provided me with lots of freedom. To meet new people, develop exciting projects – basically freedom to dive in and get involved.

The current loss of ‘travel privileges’ is absolutely murder! We were forced to cancel three exciting trips between September and January as a result of my diagnosis. Our month in South Africa for Christmas was to be the highlight of Steve’s ‘big birthday’ year. What a blow. All on hold.

What is sustaining me though are the experiences of others I’ve met who have  beaten AML. Only this week I’ve seen pictures of Scott whose now 2+ years clear on the slopes in Switzerland and heard about some of the holidays Liz has been on in her 10 years since SCT.

I must temper my patience and find a way to content myself with comprehensive planning – even at first if it’s simple a weekend away in Scotland. That will give more pleasure that anyone can imagine.

And I look to my friend Ann and her lovely husband Ian who has been a warrior, continuing to beat his cancer diagnosis. “Get planning” she told me. “It’s the fuel that inspires you to keep going through rough days”.

I couldn’t agree more. My notebook is filling up with ideas.

Look out world I’m coming to get you.

One thought on “MISSING

  1. What a another great blog from my gorgeous wife Aileen!! Yes you love travelling that’s for sure and we have been on some great holiday adventures over the years! My big birthday year as you say is in no way comparible with the bombshell of your AML diagnosis last Sept and of course absolutely no where near as important that’s for sure!!! Holidays can be cancelled, postponed but your treatment and cure is the most important thing of all and what we are focusing on right now and have been since last September! We are, and will continue to enjoy planning our future holidays together in the many, many coming years!! Can’t wait to have loads more adventurous trips again at 100 miles an hour with loads of laughs and giggles both in the UK and in far off places too!! I’m sure you can’t either Aileen!! 😊 xx

    Like

Leave a Reply

